Fall Travel 2016: Places We Visited

I know, I know. Five months too late. But I still have the pictures so I can still post them here. Just holler in the comments if you have questions about these places. I will try and answer them as best as I can (or remember)!

(All pictures were taken by my family. None from the internet.)

Where did we go in Budapest?

IMG_3926
View from our balcony – St Stephen’s Basilica

Where we stayed

My family and I stayed in 7Seasons Apartments Budapest. As usual, I booked our stay with Booking.com as it is possible to choose the “free cancellation” option. I only booked this accidentally as I did not update my card details. My initial hotel was cancelled and I could not get my reservation back. And so I had no choice but to rebook the hotel. I couldn’t get the same accommodations as they were fully booked. As I researched through the app, I found this beauty for half the price and with a full kitchen to boot! They just didn’t have breakfast, but it was easy to buy food around the hotel. We got the two-bedroom with full kitchen, toilet and bath, and laundry. We paid about 500 to 600 USD for five days. Added bonus is that it was right smack in the middle of the city, where we had access to buses, trams, and the subway. We were also close to a park and the shopping street, Vaci utca.

IMG_3948
Deak Ferenc Ter – the crossing among the different bus, trams, and subway stations (not shown)

Where we went

IMG_4028
Vaci utca

It’s a pedestrian street of different popular brands, like Zara, H&M, Desigual, and the like. It was also perpendicular to the Christmas village where you can buy souvenirs, scarves, hats, gloves, and of course, food!

IMG_4126
The Szechenyi Chain Bridge
IMG_4331
Buda Castle – The facade facing the river

You can take the bus or the funicular to get to Buda Castle. Have 200 HUF ready to ride the elevator to get to the top.

IMG_4381
Buda Castle District
IMG_4340
View from Buda Castle terrace
IMG_4454
Matthias Church – Buda Castle District

We had to pay to get into the church and take pictures. My two smaller children (aged 6 and 4) got in for free. I think you start paying the entrance fees at age 7. Beautiful inside with stained glass windows and different artifacts from the church.

IMG_4590
The Parliament – we rode the subway to get to this beauty! Breathtaking in person than in pictures.
IMG_4771
Cipok a Dunaparton – Shoes on the Danube Bank: a memorial for those killed by the Arrowcross Militia between 1944 and 1945. Only way to get here is to walk from Parliament back to the Chain Bridge.

These were the main places we went to, but we also went to Miniversum where they had models of Budapest under the communist regime. My oldest daughter and I also went to House of Terror. My two other children and the hubby stayed in the hotel as the young ones cannot enter the museum.

Overall, the city was a fantastic place to just get lost in. Even if we weren’t able to go everywhere suggested (some people were asking why we didn’t go to the baths!), just walking around gave us an overall feeling of culture and history.

This is a must place to visit! Enjoy this city with your family.

Questions? Recriminations? Violent reactions?

